Home » News » Technology News » The Five Windows 7 Editions

The Five Windows 7 Editions

posted in: Technology News 0

It looks like Microsoft is feeling really good about their latest OS iteration. It turns out Microsoft won’t be releasing any more betas and skipping straight to release candidates.

This won’t change the late 2009 release date, so you will have plenty of time to ponder over the five Windows 7 packages. Don’t worry! These five editions actually make sense:

  • Windows 7 Starter – Sold through PC makers only. Ideal for low end machines or netbooks. Has very limited functionality.
  • Windows 7 Home Premium – Available to mainstream. Similar to Vista Home Premium.
  • Windows 7 Professional – Available to mainstream. Similar to XP Professional (ability to join domains etc.)
  • Windows 7 Enterprise – Volume licensed version of Professional with additional features.
  • Windows 7 Ultimate – Limited availablity to mainstream. Has everything and doesn’t require volume license.

Unlike  the Vista editions,  each version is a superset of the one the one above it. So if you pick ‘Professional’, you will get everything ‘Home Premium’ and ‘Starter’ has to offer. And since Microsoft is going to be smart about focusing the appropriate edition to the appropriate market, consumers will (hopefully) be able to choose without  referring to a complex features chart.

No pricing details yet.

Leave a Reply